The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has opened entry submissions for its 2013 Brick In Architecture Awards, with a new Renovation/Restoration category and new category divisions this year. BIA’s annual awards honor architectural excellence and sustainable design nationwide that incorporates clay brick products as the predominant exterior building or paving material.

Entries are due by April 30. To enter and for details, go to:

The 2013 awards competition will be conducted entirely online. Architectural and design firms from around the country can enter their best material to be judged by a jury of their peers.

“As a versatile building material made in America made from abundant natural resources, there is no substitute for genuine clay brick,” says BIA President and CEO Gregg Borchelt, P.E. “In addition to its unmatched durability and many benefits from its physical properties, brick offers aesthetic flexibility to match the architect’s imagination and desires, and is a main element in sustainable design.”

As the largest and most prestigious juried competition of its kind, entries can be submitted in one or more of the below categories:

Commercial (Under $10 Million) – New

Commercial (Over $10 Million) – New

Education – K-12

Education – Colleges & Universities (Higher Education)* – New

Health Care Facilities


Houses of Worship

Residential – Single Family

Residential – Multi-Family

Renovation (Additions)**/Restoration (Restoring) – New

Paving & Landscape Projects

*Includes residence halls & academic/administrative buildings.

**Additions must use at least 50 percent new clay brick products on the building. Restoration construction must include at least 50 percent clay brick products, which can either be new or salvaged.

For complete information on eligibility, submission requirements, and judging, visit