MarchApril 2008
Industry News

Building Stone Institute’s Tucker Design Award Winners Named

The Building Stone Institute announced the recipients of the Tucker Design Award for 2008. Established in 1977, the Tucker Design Award honors those who achieve the criteria of excellence in the use of natural stone in concept, design and construction. Awards will be presented May 9 at the Tucker Design Awards ceremony in Dallas.

Winners for 2008 include the following projects:

  • Arizona: Campbell Cliffs, design by Line and Space, LLC
  • Colorado: Opus 22, design by Marpa Design Studio
  • Illinois: Litowitz Residence, design by Liederbach & Graham Architects
  • New York: Bailey Plaza, design by Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates Inc.
  • Ohio: Park East Synagogue, design by Mark Simon, FAIA, with Edward J. Keagle, AIA, of Centerbrook Architects and Planners
  • Texas: Frisco City Hall, design by Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Associates, LLP
  • Virginia: The Community Chalkboard: A Monument to Free Expression, design by Siteworks
  • Vermont: Atwater Commons, Middlebury College, design by KieranTimberlake Associates, LLP
  • Washington: Seattle City Hall, design by Bassetti Architects/Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
  • Canada: Ridge House, design by Bohlin Cywinski Jackson.

Complete coverage of the awards will appear in the Fall 2008 issue of Building Stone Magazine.

Also during the awards ceremony, the James Daniel Bybee Prize for 2008 will be presented to Henry N. Cobb in honor of the legacy of his work and excellence in the use of natural stone. Cobb is a founding partner in the architectural firm, Pei Cobb Freed & Partners, New York. See related article on page 13. MD