Final Deadline is April 30

2016 Brick in Architecture Award Winner (Commercial: Best In Class) Old Parkland Campus in Dallas, Texas.
2016 Brick in Architecture Award Winner (Commercial: Best In Class) Old Parkland Campus in Dallas, Texas.

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has opened its call for entries for the 2017 Brick in Architecture Awards, the country’s premiere architectural design competition featuring clay brick.

BIA’s annual awards honor outstanding, innovative, and sustainable architecture in 10 categories that incorporate clay brick products as the predominant exterior building or paving material.

Entries must be submitted online by April 30. Projects will be judged by a jury of peers, and the winners will be announced in June.

“Winning a 2016 Best of Class Brick in Architecture Award for IS 230Q was a great marketing tool for our firm,” said Alyson Dunn, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, John Ciardullo, P.C. “The recognition of our project gave us national exposure and showcased our architectural design vocabulary to prospective clients.”

Joy Graham, marketing director for GF55 Partners, said that her firm prides itself in using simple materials in creative ways. “The Brick in Architecture Awards competition helps to highlight our firm’s ability to use brick, a natural and practical material, to elevate our design vision,” said Graham.

Architectural and design firms may enter projects completed since Jan. 1, 2012, in which new clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent), including: face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, new clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these units and more.

Entries must be submitted online in one or more of these categories:
Education – K-12
Education – Colleges & Universities (Higher Education)
Health Care Facilities
Municipal / Government
Houses of Worship
Residential – Single Family
Residential – Multi-Family
Paving & Landscape Projects
Renovation (Additions) / Restoration (Restoring)

Best in Class winners will receive national recognition through a special Brick in Architecture insert in the December 2017 issue of Architect magazine. Other winners will be included in the insert, Brick News Online and a press release, and all entrants will be featured in BIA’s online Photo Gallery.