JanuaryFebruary 2009
Industry News

Arizona Masonry Guild Announces Architectural 
Award Winners

The Arizona Masonry Guild recently announced the winners of its 17th Annual Excellence in Masonry Architectural Awards program, honoring 15 projects for “outstanding masonry design, workmanship and creativity with the use of brick, block, or stone.” For each winning project, the honors go to the architectural firm, the structural engineering firm, general contractor, masonry supplier and masonry contractor.

Masonry Design Magazine

For 2008, the Guild’s top award, or Golden Trowel, went to a private residence in Phoenix (pictured above). The construction team consisted of Jones Studio architects, JT Engineering, Reliance Build, Inc., Superlite Block and Maldonado-Olson Masonry, Inc.
Other awards were earned for the following projects. See the Guild’s website for complete details (www.MasonryforLife.com):

Honor Awards
•    Portland Place, Phase I
•    Mountain Redux Residence
•    Peoria Community and Development Services Building
•    Banner Gateway Medical Center
•    Lost Canyon Private Residence
•    Downtown Glendale Parking Structure
•    Raintree Phase III & IV
•    Cooper Crossing
•    Institute of Religion at Arizona State University
•    Midwestern University – Medical Office Building

Citation Awards
•    Denbrock Residence
•    Franklin Police & Fire High School
•    Papago Gateway Center
•    Peoria Jomax Fire Station No. 197

The Annual Excellence in Masonry Architectural Awards program is sponsored by the Arizona Masonry Guild, Inc. The Guild and its members have played a significant role in economic development, new product and construction standards, enhanced safety policies and increased energy efficiency of masonry products.  MD